Skip to Navigation

Student CPT Honors First Recipients of Campus Being a Difference Award

Since 2006, the NASBA Center for the Public Trust (CPT) has honored professionals who positively impact business with strong, ethical leadership through the Being a Difference Award. The CPT recognizes these individuals practicing high standards of ethical, business leadership by traveling to their hometown to present the award in front of their peers and family.

This spring, the CPT launched a parallel program, the Campus Being a Difference Award, for college and university campuses where Student Center for the Public Trust (Student CPT) chapters are established. Lipscomb University was the first campus to establish a Student CPT chapter, and has embraced the new awards programs by once again serving as the pilot campus. In this awards program, students on campus nominate both students and faculty members. An honoree is selected in each category by the campus Student CPT leadership with the guidance of the chapter faculty advisor and the CPT national office.

The recipients of the award do not simply aspire to make a difference – they are Being a Difference on their campus and other endeavors by embodying the very best in principled behavior and integrity.

The honorees of the inaugural Campus Being a Difference Award at Lipscomb University are student, Elizabeth Hayes, and faculty member, Dr. Ray Eldridge. They were honored at Lipscomb University’s College of Business Graduation Luncheon on May 4, and presented their awards by CPT Manager of Programs, Amy Walters.

“Elizabeth is extremely involved in several organizations on campus. She establishes great relationships with people and is good at getting things done. Her leadership roles include being president of the Multicultural Organization for the past three years and being a member of the Orientation Team,” said nominator and fellow student Jessica Moore. “Elizabeth has truly made a difference on Lipscomb’s campus. She is known for her outgoing personality and willingness to help others. She has made changes on the campus that will be carried on once she leaves. She enjoys learning about other cultures and coming up with new ideas.”

Associate Dean of the College of Business, Dr. Ray Eldridge, was surprised and deeply touched by being honored with the award. Eldridge also served as the host of the luncheon.

“Aside from the obvious leadership responsibilities Dr. Eldridge displays every day as the Associate Dean of the College of Business, he is also very sympathetic to veterans as a former member of the armed forces himself,” said student and nominator Brett Pulley. “He’s approachable and can offer advice or wisdom to the numerous veterans who attend Lipscomb under the Yellow Ribbon Program.”

Over the next year, the Campus Being a Difference Award program will be carried out on the numerous campuses where Student CPT chapters are established. A representative from the CPT national office will travel to those campuses to present the award to the honorees.

For more information on the Student Center for the Public Trust: Student CPT Website

Originally Published on on May 7, 2012